Durga Puga 2021, Date, Time & Sacification

Durga Puja is a very popular festival in India. Durga Puja is a 10-day festival, but the last 5 days are celebrate with great enthusiasm. The festival is celebrate as Navratri in North India and Durga Puja in West Bengal, Assam, Tripura, Odisha and Bihar in Northeast India. The excess of this worship in West Bengal deserves special mention.

Worship of Durga is also organize outside India. Many Indians of American and European descent worship Goddess Durga. Durga Puja is a very old religious festival. In Bengal, the festival is usually held in elite houses and by social organizations.

Durga Puja Dates

Name of the Day

Day Date


Wednesday 6th October

Maha Sasthi

Monday 11th October

Maha Saptami

Tuesday 12th October
Maha Astomi Wednesday

13th October

Maha Navami Thursday

14th October

Bijaya Dashami Friday

15th October

Laxmi Puja Wednesday

20th October


Durga Puja is one of the biggest festivals in India. It is the largest cultural festival in West Bengal. The last five days of the festival – Maha Sasthi, Maha Saptami, Maha Ashtami, Maha Nabami and Vijay Dashami. The festival begins with the awakening of the goddess in the Maha Sasthi. And the festival ends with the farewell of the goddess on Maha Dashmi. The names Navami and Dushumi Navratri and Dussehra are known in northern India. Goddess Durga is worship on Navratri and craft of Ravana is burn on Dussehra. According to the Ramayana, on this day Sri Ramachandra killed Ravana to rescue Sita Mata. So this day is very significant in Hindu society.

Why is Durga Puja Celebrated ?

Durga Puja is the victory celebration of good energy against evil energy. According to the Puranas, a demon named Mahisasura dominates the kingdom of heaven. And the persecution began. Exasperated by her oppression, the gods took refuge in Goddess Parvati. Then Goddess Parvati took the form of the ten-armed Durga. And the gods worship Goddess Durga with all their might to subdue the demonic power. Goddess Durga kills Mahishasura. She frees the gods from the demons. For this reason, Goddess Durga is calls Mahisasurmardini.

Mahalaya is the beginning of the Durga festival. On this day Goddess Durga is starts her journey from heaven to earth with her 4 children Goddess Lakshmi, Goddess Saraswati, Lord Ganesh and Karthik. In Bengali culture, Goddess Durga is see as a girl. And this time she comes to his father’s house. For this reason, Durga Puja is so important in Bengal.

  • Maha Sasthi – The sixth day of the festival. Worship begins with the realization of the goddess. The soul is establish in the idol of the goddess according to the rules.
  • Maha Saptami – On this day, after bathing in ‘Kola Bau’ in the morning, she is establish. ‘Kola Bau’ is a combination of nine plants. By combining part of eight type of plants with a small banana tree, she is give the form of a bride.
  • Maha Ashtami- It is customary to pay homage on the eighth day. is calls “Anjali”. Some puja organizers organize kumari puja.
  • Maha Nabami – The ninth form of Goddess Durga is worship on the ninth day of the festival. And “Sandhi Puja” is held in the evening.
  • Vijaya Dasumi – The last day of Durga Puja is Vijaya Dasumi. On this day, at the end of the puja, Goddess Durga is welcom and bid farewell like in that year. There is a widespread practice of playing Sindur among Bengali brides after the farewell. Above all, the idol of Goddess Durga is immersed in a nearby pond or river after the huge procession. After abandonment, people distribute sweets and goodwill to each other and relatives. Above all, Durgotsab comes to an end.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *